

MEDIA RELEASE

20 September 2019

NEW AUSTRALIAN ENERGY REGULATOR CHAIR

Energy Networks Australia CEO Andrew Dillon has congratulated Clare Savage on her appointment as Chair of the Australian Energy Regulator (AER).

He said Clare would bring to her new role deep experience as Deputy Chair of the Energy Security Board and through previous roles in the energy sector.

"Energy networks look forward to working with the AER and Ms Savage on continuing to deliver benefits to customers," Mr Dillon said.

"As networks around Australia connect record levels of renewable generation and a wide array of distributed energy resources, ensuring all customers benefit from their values and flexibility will be key.

"A critical first step in that will be the right investments in the right places with smart technologies to promote visibility and fair access."

Mr Dillon said <u>Incentives</u> and innovation schemes that the AER had delivered in consultation with networks had helped drive continuing efficiencies in networks.

"We look forward to these continuing and evolving," he said.

"Networks will continue to explore new areas of partnership with the AER, including its valuable leadership of the constructive tariff roundtable process to deliver fairer pricing reforms."

Mr Dillon thanked outgoing Chair, Paula Conboy, for her service and commitment to collaborative and constructive discussions between networks, the regulator and customers.

"Paula's commitment to the <u>New Reg Trial</u> with AusNet saw strongly practical reforms to the way networks interact and consult with their customers, which will benefit all," he said.

ENDS

Media Contact: Michael Lewis, (03) 9103 0405, mlewis@energynetworks.com.au

Energy Networks Australia is the national industry body representing Australia's electricity transmission and distribution and gas distribution networks. Our members provide more than 16 million electricity and gas connections to almost every home and business across Australia.