

MEDIA RELEASE

13 December 2019

NEW AUSTRALIAN ENERGY REGULATOR BOARD APPOINTMENTS

Energy Networks Australia has welcomed the appointment of three new board members to a newly expanded Australian Energy Regulator (AER).

Mr Dillon congratulated appointees Eric Groom, Justin Oliver and Catriona Low, who will join Chair Clare Savage and existing member Jim Cox.

He acknowledged the contribution of former AER Chair Paula Conboy and outgoing Member Cristina Cifuentes.

"The expansion of the board from three to five members provided the opportunity for greater breadth of experience among members," Mr Dillon said.

"The addition of Ms Lowe reflects energy networks' increasing focus on real customer outcomes. Mr Groom and Mr Oliver are also highly respected in their fields."

Mr Dillon said the network sector was embracing the significant challenges and opportunities from changing customer needs with the rapid growth in renewable generation as part of the decarbonisation of our electricity and gas sectors.

"Given the transformation underway and the AER's role in network regulation, it is in the best interests of customers that the board has a diverse set of skills and experiences, including a solid understanding of the issues the sector is facing," he said.

"Energy Networks look forward to a constructive relationship with the new board to deliver good customer outcomes."

ENDS

Media Contact: Alicia White, awhite@energynetworks.com.au, (03) 9103 0405.

Energy Networks Australia is the national industry body representing Australia's electricity transmission and distribution and gas distribution networks. Our members provide more than 16 million electricity and gas connections to almost every home and business across Australia.